Skip to Content

Month: April 2019

The Ivors, now in their 64th year, celebrate, honour and reward excellence in British and Irish songwriting and composing across categories for songs, album, film, TV and video game scores. The ceremony will also present Ivor Novello Awards that recognise music creators for their wider contribution to British music. Music creators nominated to receive an […]

Les was a long-standing member of the Academy who had been awarded with five Ivor Novello awards in the 60s and a Gold Badge in 1980, in honour of his extraordinary lifetime achievement and contribution to songwriting. Artists including Elvis Presley, Shirley Bassey, Bing Crosby and Lulu have all recorded songs written by Les Reed. […]

The investiture ceremony took place at Buckingham Palace on 4th April, where the award was given by Prince Charles. Shirley is an active member of The Ivors Academy, currently sitting on the Academy’s Classical committee, and is involved with a number of the Academy’s initiatives and working groups, including an ongoing diversity and inclusion campaigning […]

Voting has opened for the 2019 PRS Board Director elections, and we are calling on members of The Ivors Academy to cast their votes and help shape the future of the organisation. The deadline for voting is 17:00 on Tuesday 7th May. It is important that members representing the Academy’s community have strong representation on the […]

Gold Badge Nominations Open

 NOMINATION DEADLINE EXTENSION – FRIDAY 24TH MAY  The Ivors Academy Gold Badge, which celebrates outstanding individuals who have supported songwriters and composers in the UK, will take place on Friday 11th October from 11:30. Presented since 1974, The Ivors Academy Gold Badge honours exceptional people from right across the music industry. Each year we invite […]

The beginning of the week saw the start of a new month, but sadly the last of the Songwriter’s Circle event at ICMP for this term. This latest session introduced four ICMP students – Ronni Mardor, Irene Skylakai, Stina Mai, Sophie Holden, and was hosted by ICMP Songwriting tutor Shane Beales. Each songwriter showed natural […]


Back to top