Skip to Content

The Ivors Academy Gold Badge 2019

We will present our annual Gold Badge lunch at The Savoy, London on Friday 11th October 2019. An Ivors Academy Gold Badge is presented to outstanding individuals who have supported the professional lives of UK songwriters and composers.

Created in 1974, The Ivors Academy Gold Badge acknowledges exceptional talent in the UK music industry; individuals who support creativity in all its musical forms.

We acknowledge that success is rarely a solo achievement; we are inspired by those who came before us, championed by broadcasters and commissioners, or supported by managers and publishers. Our creations are performed by exceptional musicians or realised in recorded form by producers, engineers and arrangers.

For over 45 years we have acknowledged the many outstanding individuals who have supported our membership through the presentation of The Ivors Academy Gold Badge, taking place each October at an exclusive lunch in the Ballroom of The Savoy, London. This year we are proud to welcome acclaimed broadcaster Edith Bowman to host the ceremony.

The Ivors Academy Gold Badge recipients for 2019 are:

Odaline de la Martinez, distinguished composer and conductor and Artistic Director of Lontano ensemble

Jane Dyball, major music publishing influencer and former CEO of the MPA Group

Olga FitzRoy, award-winning engineer and mixer and dedicated campaigner for self-employed families, fronted by ‘#SelfieLeave’ Bill

Nikki Iles, critically acclaimed jazz pianist, composer and educator

Omar Lye-Fook MBE, leading icon of British soul music, prolific singer, songwriter and artist

Thalia Myers, exceptional pianist and teacher who is a powerful advocate of new music

Trevor Nelson MBE, multi-Award winning broadcaster and champion of urban music

Chris Philips, highly respected broadcaster who has dedicated himself to the promotion of Jazz in the UK

Lohan Presencer, pioneer of electronic music and culture, Chairman of the Ministry of Sound Group

Vanessa Reed, dedicated to supporting and improving conditions for composers, artists and music organisations. President & CEO of New Music USA and former CEO of PRS Foundation. This is presented in association with PRS for Music.

Tickets are now on sale and are available to purchase by completing the booking form below or in the members’ area here. If you are a Standard or Academy member of The Ivors Academy you are eligible to purchase a ticket at a special discounted rate.

The Ivors Academy Gold Badge is sponsored by PPL and PRS for Music.  To view archives of our previous Gold Badge awards, click here.


Back to top