Skip to Content

The Ivors Composer Awards ceremony returns on 15th November 2022 in its twentieth year

Caroline Kraabel and Yazz Ahmed

The Ivors Academy has announced that The Ivors Composer Awards will take place on Tuesday 15th November 2022 at the British Museum, London.

Celebrating its twentieth anniversary, the awards celebrate creative excellence by composers across classical, jazz and sound arts.

2021 winners included Anna Thorvaldsdottir, Thomas Adès, Alexander Goehr, Nicki Iles, Zoe Rahman, Caroline Kraabel and Cleveland Watkiss, who each collected a hand-crafted Ivor Novello Award.

The Ivors Composer Awards are sponsored by PRS for Music and BBC Radio 3 are the broadcast partner, both have continually supported the awards since they began. BBC Radio 3 will broadcast the ceremony in a special edition of the New Music Show on Saturday 19 November at 10pm.

Graham Davies, CEO of The Ivors Academy said, “The Ivors Composer Awards are back and turning twenty. We are proud that for two decades these awards have been judged by composers and presented to their peers for nothing else than creativity, craft and innovation. An Ivor is a symbol of the respect and appreciation that composers have for each other, and these awards are an important moment celebrate the most incredible achievements in classical, jazz and sound arts.”

Entries will open on Monday 30th May and to be eligible works must have premiered to UK audiences between 1st April 2021 and 31st March 2022. Categories and rules for entry will be published ahead of the public call for submissions.

2022 Dates

Monday 30th May
Entries open

Friday 8th July
Entries close

Monday 19th September
Tickets on sale for The Ivors Composer Awards

Tuesday 18th October
Nominations Announced

Tuesday 15th November
Winners announced at The Ivors Composer Awards
British Museum, London

Saturday 19th November
New Music Show Special, BBC Radio 3


Back to top