Skip to Content

Michelle Escoffery, Shani Gonzales, Andy Heath CBE and Fran Malyan join The Ivors Academy Trust Board

The new Trustees will help the Trust to fulfil its mission of supporting, educating and nurturing songwriters and composers facing barriers. 

  • Ivor Novello Award winning songwriter and singer Michelle Escoffery is President of PRS’ Members Council  
  • Shani Gonzales is the EVP, Managing Director of Warner Chappell Music UK and Head of International A&R, Warner Chappell Music 
  • Andy Heath is Chair of Beggars Music and Board Director of Beggars Group 
  • Fran Malyan is the Co-Owner of Extra Mile Music and former SVP of Sony Music Publishing, Catalogue A&R 

The Ivors Academy Trust has added four new music industry leaders to its heavy-weight board of Trustees. They bring decades of experience across publishing, A&R and representing songwriters and composers. 

These newest additions to the Trustee Board come at a time where The Ivors Academy Trust is supporting more songwriters and composers than ever before through programmes that provide creative development, access to education and support future leaders in the music industry.  

With The BRIT School, the Trust recently benefited from a joint fundraiser from The Other Songs in partnership with The Ivors Academy. The evening saw AR Rahman, Shaznay Lewis, Dave Stewart, Dot Major, Jimmy Napes, Issey Cross, Fraser T Smith, Andrew Lloyd Webber, Sunmisola Agbebi, Rick Nowels, Rachel Chinouriri, Guy Garvey, Ruthanne and more perform at London’s iconic Palladium. 

The growth of the Ivors Academy Trust Board reflects a commitment to diversify representation from across the music industry. Chair of The Ivors Academy Trust and leading industry lawyer and advisor Cliff Fluet said, “I am delighted to welcome our new Trustees and I look forward to working with them as they further strengthen and diversity the skillset on our Board.” 

Vice Chair of the Trust and songwriter manager Lucy Francis said, “The Ivors Academy Trust is committed to increasing opportunities for songwriters and composers from all backgrounds who face barriers. Having a skilled, knowledgeable and connected Board of Trustees helps us accomplish this.” 

Michelle Escoffery is an Ivor Novello Award Winning Singer Songwriter with 3 decades experience in the music industry as an esteemed educator, songwriter and champion of music creators. Michelle is the President of the PRS for Music Members Council.  

Andy Heath CBE has over 50 years’ experience in the music industry. He has been on the Board of Beggars Group since 1989, one of Europe’s leading and significant independent music companies, and is currently Chairman of Beggars Music the group’s publishing division. He is a profound believer in a long-term approach to talent development.  

Shani Gonzales is the EVP, Managing Director of Warner Chappell Music UK and Head of International A&R, Warner Chappell Music. A seasoned music executive, Shani has spent her career signing and developing many of today’s leading artists, songwriters and producers.  

Fran Malyan is the Co-Owner of Extra Mile Music, with 46 years’ experience in music publishing. Fran was on the Board of EMI and then SVP of Catalogue A&R at Sony and was inducted into the Women In Music Roll of Honour in its first year and has been a Board member of the MPA. 

The new additions to the Board will help The Ivors Academy Trust continue to provide songwriters and creators with educational opportunities, programmes, bursaries and funding. 


Back to top