Skip to Content
Euterpe Ivor Novello statuette
The Ivors Classical Awards sponsored by PRS for Music and in association with BBC Radio 3
The Ivors Classical Awards

The UK's foremost celebration of creative excellence in contemporary classical music and sound art.

Celebrating the best new works by British, Irish or UK resident composers writing for classical and sound art.

The Ivors Classical Awards are when Ivor Novello Awards are bestowed to celebrate creative excellence in British and Irish composing for classical and sound art.

Across the last twenty years they have recognised the achievements of some the UK’s most talented composers including Sally Beamish, Sir Harrison Birtwistle, Tansy Davies, Jonny Greenwood, Anna Meredith, Sir John Tavener, Mark-Anthony Turnage, Errollyn Wallen, Roderick Williams and many more.

Entries are now closed

The categories opened for entry for The Ivors Classical Awards were:

Best Small Chamber Composition
Best Chamber Ensemble Composition
Best Large Ensemble Composition
Best Orchestral Composition
Best Choral Composition
Best Community and Participation Composition in association with ABRSM
Best Stage Work
Best Sound Art


The Ivors Classical Awards are sponsored by PRS for Music and will take place on Tuesday 12th November at the BFI Southbank in London. BBC Radio 3 will broadcast the ceremony in a special edition of the New Music Show, which will also be available on BBC Sounds.


Tuesday 28th May, Entries open
Monday 8th July, Entries close
Tuesday 15th October, Nominations announced
Tuesday 12th November, The Ivors Classical Awards, BFI Southbank, London

2024 Awards Ceremony

The Ivors Classical Awards take place at the BFI Southbank in London on Tuesday 12 November 2024.

  • Date
  • Time
    18:30 - 22:30
  • Address
    BFI Southbank, Belvedere Road, London SE1 8XT


Back to top