Skip to Content

The Ivors Academy announce new appointments and initiatives to empower young music creators

A number of announcements have been made as part of our commitment to support and nurture the next generation of creative talent across the UK.

The Academy’s Youth Network, which was established last autumn, is a growing and connected community of young creators and a hub of partnerships with Universities, Colleges and other non-academic organisations. The Network aims to empower and educate young songwriters and composers of all genres, and provide a platform at the Academy to voice views on music industry issues.

The newly formed Youth Council is made up of sixteen young creators from the Academy’s Youth Network, acting as an advisory group which will form a central role in shaping the future of the Academy. Two members of the Council have been co-opted the Academy’s Board.

The new appointments are:

Hope Winter – Under 25 Board Director and Co-Chair of the Youth Council
Imogen Williams – Under 25 Board Director and Co-Chair of the Youth Council

Andrew Chen
Carmel Smickersgill
Ellie Parker
Emma McGrath
Jake Morgan
Jo de Ruiter
Jo Ranger
Kizzy Crawford
Molly Welford-Toner
Rosie Frater-Taylor
Sahra Gure
Sam Johnson
Thomas Prince
William Davenport

Hope Winter and Imogen Williams have been appointed to the Academy Board in a shared role. Of the appointment Hope Winter says:

“As a young female independent musician and songwriter, I’m acutely aware of the pressures in our industry, and the difficulties of making a living as a young creative. The Ivors Academy are a body really looking to make a significant impact on a fairer future for all music creators, and ensuring that music-making for future generations is not restricted to a privileged few. It’s high time that our industry moved forward on issues around gender equality, streaming and royalty rights, physical and mental health and diversity. I’m really looking forward to playing some part in that.”

Of the appointment Imogen Williams says:

“I’m very pleased to be welcomed to The Ivors Academy Board. I engage with the lives of young musicians every day, so to represent them in a body that wants to fight for us is an honour and something I feel like I’ve been working towards for a long time. I want to show kids that music is a viable career option, but due to the ableist nature of the industry and without changes to streaming services, buyouts and other exploitative avenues, we’re encouraging young and diverse talent to a cliff edge. The system needs to change.”

The Ivors Academy Youth Council has been formed by self-nominated young creators taken from the community of The Ivors Academy Under 25 members, combined with nominated student representatives from Youth Network Partner organisations.

Under 25 discounted membership to the Academy was launched last year as a means to remove financial pressures for aspiring creators looking for support at the very start of their careers.

More recently, this month The Ivors Academy together with Help Musicians and the support of The Ivors Academy Trust, launched a brand new mentoring scheme for emerging music creators, starting in September 2020. The programme will match 50 mentees with 50 suitable mentors from within the membership and the broader music industry. Applications are open now until 12 August. Find out more and apply here.

Wesley John, Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Manager at The Ivors Academy says:

“Establishing the Youth Network Council has been a key initiative to strengthen the diversity of our collective voice at The Ivors Academy. I am thrilled to welcome Hope, Imogen, and members of the Youth Council, and am confident they will make a positive impact for our young creator community and the growth and success of The Ivors Academy.”

A new five part ‘Creators’ Conversations’ online webinar series will begin this week which looks to proactively engage with and promote representatives of the Youth Council and their work at the Academy to date. The first webinar, hosted by Chair of The Ivors Academy Crispin Hunt, takes place on Thursday 30 July at 15:00 – 16:00 BST and will introduce new Board Directors Hope Winter and Imogen Williams. To reserve your free place and find out more visit our events page here.


Back to top