Skip to Content

Members of the music creator community recognised in New Year Honours list

A number of songwriters and composers are to be awarded as part of the New Year Honours list 2020, recognising the achievements and service of extraordinary people across the UK.

Amongst those are The Ivors Academy Fellow Sir Elton John, who has been awarded the Order of the Companions of Honour for services to music and charity. Winning the highest accolade on the list, the twelve-time Ivor Novello Award winner said on Twitter:

“I’m humbled and honoured to be among such highly esteemed company in receiving the Companion of Honour. 2019 has turned out to be a truly wonderful year for me and I feel extraordinarily blessed.”

Also recognised in the New Years Honours list is composer Errollyn Wallen (pictured) who has been awarded a CBE for services to music. The Academy presented Errollyn Wallen with an Ivor Novello Award in 2013 for Classical Music as well as a British Composer Award in 2005.

OBE’s have been awarded to composer Judith Bingham, Snow Patrol frontman Gary Lightbody and Queen’s Roger Taylor. British Composer Award winner and 2019 The Ivors Composer Award nominee Helen Grime has been made MBE for services to music, alongside Billy Ocean (born Leslie Sebastian Charles) who has also been awarded an MBE.


Back to top