Skip to Content

Gold Badge Awards 1997: Recipients

See our 1997 Gold Badge recipients here. Content originally published by BASCA.

See our 1997 Gold Badge recipients here. Content originally published by BASCA.

Originally published by BASCA, October 15th 1997

The British Academy of Songwriters Composers & Authors presents The 23rd Annual Gold Badge Awards.

To celebrate the achievements of an outstanding group of men and women who have made a special contribution to Britain’s entertainment industry.

Wednesday 15th October 1997. The Savoy, Strand, London

The full list of 1997 Gold Badge recipients is as follows:

  • Deke Arlon
  • Ken Bruce
  • Peter Dadswell
  • Kiki Dee
  • Eric Delaney
  • Eddy Grant
  • Keith Grant
  • Tony Hiller
  • Judd Lander
  • David Mackay
  • Stuart Newton
  • Frankie Vaughan
  • Rick Wakeman


Guy Fletcher, Chair of the British Academy of Composers, Songwriters and Authors, says:

It’s not a bit of good creating a great song if you don’t have a follow-up team to help you bring it to the public’s attention. Most of you know that we require the support of publishers, artists, producers, engineers, record company people, promoters and broadcasters to make hits. This industry is filled with talented people, many of whom never receive any thanks, indeed any of them never even receive the money! But that’s another story.

As ever, we have assembled a wonderful line-up of recipients, some you will know well, others you may not. The fact is that each and every one has helped to enrich our lived by promoting the songwriter’s art in their own individual way. For this the BASCA Council thanks them and asks that they accept our Gold Award as a token of our appreciation.”



Back to top