Skip to Content

Elena Segal to receive an Ivors Academy Honour

Music industry executive Elena Segal will receive an Ivors Academy Honour, in recognition of her exceptional contributions to the UK music industry.

Image of Elena Segal with Ivors Academy Honours logo

Tom Gray, Chair of The Ivors Academy said, “Elena is one of the most accomplished and respected music executives in the UK. Throughout her career Elena has consistently championed the value of songwriters and music publishing. Notably, she has been at the forefront of global music licensing as technology transformed the industry. For her contributions to the music industry, Elena truly deserves this Honour.”

Ivors Academy Honours celebrate individuals that champion songwriters and composers while creating positive change within the music industry. Elena joins the award’s inaugural recipients, Kevin Brennan MP, Carla Marie Williams, Crispin Hunt, and the late Rupert Hine.

Elena Segal began her career in music in 2001 as an Associate at Mitchell Silberberg & Knupp LLP, focusing on entertainment litigation, particularly copyright and trademark cases for the music industry. In 2006, she joined iTunes and was directly involved in the Stores’ expansion across the world. More recently, Elena oversaw the licensing of all music publishing rights ex-US for the launch of Apple Music in over 100 countries. Elena also played a key role at the Apple Music Festival that ran for a decade in London and saw performances from some of the biggest artists in the world. In her current role as Apple’s Global Senior Director of Music Publishing, Elena is responsible for all aspects of Apple’s relationships, whether commercial, strategic, operational or creative, with songwriters, music publishers and other licensors of rights in compositions.

The Ivors Academy Honours revives the tradition of the Gold Badge Awards, established in 1974 to recognise similar contributions. Illustrious past recipients include Joan Armatrading CBE, Janice Long, Peter Gabriel, Beverly Knight MBE, Bob Geldof KBE, Trevor Nelson MBE, Paulette Long OBE and Sir Michael Eavis.

The Honour will be presented at a private event held in London in May.


Back to top