Skip to Content


General info

Ivor Novello Awards are presented at The Ivors Composer Awards to composers in recognition of works which have received their UK premiere during the awards year.

Anyone can enter a work, including the composer. There is a £10 administration fee per entry, which is waived if the composer is a member of The Ivors Academy. To find out about joining The Ivors Academy click here.

Following an annual review of the Composer Awards’ categories, a number of changes have been made for 2020 to broaden the categories whilst ensuring large scale commissions, which are so important to composers, receive profile. Works that would have been entered into previously distinct categories are still invited in these broader categories.

Please enter Solo or Duo works into Small Chamber; works for Wind Band or Brass Band into either Large Chamber, Chamber Orchestral or Community and Participation as is appropriate. Please enter works composed for Amateur or Young Performers or Community and Educational Projects into Community and Participation.

To be eligible composers must be UK born or be ordinarily resident in the United Kingdom and the work must have received its UK premiere performance, either live or broadcast during the 12 months prior to 31 March 2020.


Small Chamber
Large Chamber
Jazz Composition for Small Ensemble
Jazz Composition for Large Ensemble
Chamber Orchestral
Large Orchestral
Stage Works
Sound Art
Community and Participation

2020 info

  • Call for entries opens
  • Deadline for entry
  • Judging period begins
  • Nominated composers confidentially informed in writing
  • Nominations press announcement
  • The Ivors Composer Awards 2020
    British Museum, Great Russell Street, London

The Rules

Please ensure that you read the Academy's rules and criteria for entries to The Ivors Composer Awards prior to entering eligible works. Entries are submitted via our dedicated award entry site.

Download rules PDF
Back to top